Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » Elder Law Laws » Organizations For Older Adults » Quick Overview to The Joint Commission

Quick Overview to The Joint Commission

Joint Commission

The Joint Commission, formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization, or JCAHO, is a private, non-profit organization. It accredits more than 17,000 health care organizations and programs throughout the United States.

If an organization or program receives accreditation from the Joint Commission or previously received it under JCAHO, they have met the standards that reflect the qualities that the Joint Commission has outlined for its accreditation. For hospitals or other health care service programs to be accredited, they need to subscribe for evaluations and pay a fee to the Commission. A majority of state governments have come to recognize Joint Commission accreditation as a condition of license and the receipt of Medicaid reimbursement.

Founded in 1951 as the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Hospitals and later known familiarly as JCAHO, the Joint Commission is governed by 29 members on a board of directors. This committee includes doctors, nurses, administrators, health plan leaders, experts, ethicists and other medical service professionals. The Commission’s office in Washington D.C. directly deals with government agencies and with Congress in seeking and maintaining partnerships with the government that will improve the quality of health care for all Americans.

The Commission also works with Congress on legislation involving the quality and safety of health care. The goal herein is to continuously improve health care for the public, while working with stakeholders by evaluating health care organizations and motivating them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value to their patients.

The Joint Commission provides accreditation services for the following types of organizations:

General, psychiatric, children’s and rehabilitation hospitals

Critical access hospitals

Home care organizations, including medical equipment services

other long-term care

Behavioral health care organizations, addiction services

Ambulatory care providers, including group practices and office-based surgery practices

Independent or freestanding clinical laboratories

In order for these organizations to be accredited under what some people still know as "JCAHO standards," they need to meet requirements established by the Commission. These standards address the scrutinized organization's level of performance in key areas including patient rights, patient treatment, medication safety and infection control. By creating standards for organizations to meet, a higher level of performance in medical care is designed. Some positive aspects of "JCAHO accreditation":

Strengthens community confidence in the quality and safety of care, treatment and services

Provides organizations competitive edge in the marketplace

Improves risk management and risk reduction

Promotes education on good practices to improve business operations

Promotes professional advice and counsel, enhancing staff education

Enhances staff recruitment and development

Is recognized by insurers and other third parties

May fulfill regulatory requirements in select states

NEXT: What Are The Organizations for Older Adults

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an CT Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer